Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

SUNY honors seven ECC students with 2012 Chancellor’s Award

Wednesday, May 02, 2012

Last month, Erie Community College students were honored with seven of the state's 257 Chancellor's Awards for Student Excellence, presented by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center in Albany, N.Y.

“The students (honored) have taken full advantage of the academic and extracurricular programs that SUNY provides both in the classroom and in the community,” said Chancellor Zimpher. “These proven leaders, athletes, artists, and civic volunteers truly represent the power of SUNY. I congratulate all of the students being recognized today and thank them for the positive impact each has had on New York State, our university system, and the communities we serve.”

ECC students honored by Chancellor Zimpher included Buffalo residents Jacob Glaser, Nicholas John, Tatyana Korogoda, Todd Stevens, Nicki Underhill and Lisa Womer; and Tonawanda resident Bryan Meyers.

The Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence was created in 1997 to recognize students who have best demonstrated, and have been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts, campus involvement, or career achievement. Each year, campus presidents establish a selection committee, which reviews exemplary students. Nominees are then forwarded to the Chancellor's Office and are subject to a second round of review. Finalists are then recommended to the Chancellor to become recipients of the award. Each recipient receives a framed certificate and medallion, which is traditionally worn at commencement.


For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.