Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

SUNY honors ECC Phi Theta Kappa members

Thursday, April 08, 2010
Erie Community College students Morgan Morningstar and Austin Dodge were among 59 students named to the All-State Academic Team by State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher and New York Community College Trustees President Mary A. Adams at a ceremony held April 6 in Albany.
Students placed on the All-State Academic Team were ranked into three levels; Morningstar was named to the second team and Dodge was named to the third team.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. Erie Community College members must have a GPA of between a 3.5 and 4.0 to be inducted and must have very strong records of service to the campus or greater community.
“On behalf of the Erie Community College Board of Trustees and the entire college community, I would like to congratulate Morgan Morningstar and Austin Dodge. They are excellent ambassadors of the college, and we are very proud to have had them represent ECC in Albany at the recent ceremony hosted by Chancellor Zimpher,” ECC President Jack Quinn said.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.5 million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, and Palau.
For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, please visit: www.phithetakappa.org.
Erie Community College meets the needs of a diverse student body and contributes to regional economic vitality by providing excellent, flexible, affordable and accessible educational programs in a multi-campus environment committed to continuous improvement.

For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.