Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

SUNY honors two ECC students with 2012 Phi Theta Kappa honors

Monday, May 07, 2012

Last month, two Erie Community College students were honored as part of the Phi Theta Kappa Community College Honor Society by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center in Albany, N.Y.

The Phi Theta Kappa awards—which recognize outstanding community college students throughout the state—were presented to ECC students Todd Stevens and Lisa Womer. Along with their society selection, each also earned spots on the All-New York Community College Academic Team. Stevens earned First Team honors, and Womer earned a spot of the state's Second Team. The ceremony is sponsored annually by New York Community College Trustees, the New York Community College Association of Presidents, and the Faculty Council of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society that recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. In addition to academic achievement, recipients of the award are also evaluated on their leadership and community service involvement, and are named members of the All-New York Community College Academic Team. This year, 54 students will be honored from SUNY Community Colleges and 10 from CUNY Community Colleges.


For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.