Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

Erie Community College recognizes top student-athletes

Wednesday, May 26, 2010
The Erie Community College department of athletics handed out its yearly awards to its top student-athletes Monday evening at the Burt Flickinger Athletic Center. 

Sophomores Laura Nerber (Amherst/Sweet Home High School) and Steve Paternostro  (Angola/Lake Shore High School) received the Lawrence C. Spring Award as the top female and male athlete, respectively. 

Nerber was a First Team All-Region selection in soccer and lacrosse. She led the lacrosse team in scoring with 52 goals and 19 assists and has signed a National Letter of Intent to play lacrosse at Niagara University next year. Paternostro was the first Erie student-athlete in history to win the decathlon at the NJCAA Division III Track and Field championships. He also was a member of the national champion 4x400-meter relay team. 

Sophomore Ryan Winkowski (Lancaster/Lancaster High School) was the recipient of the Helen Cornell award for having the highest grade point average after three semesters. A member of the golf team, Winkowski was an All-Region selection after finishing ninth at the Region III Golf Championships. 

Sophomores Bryan Kalczynski (Lancaster/Lancaster High School) and Samantha Gray (Kenmore/Kenmore West High School) were the recipients of the Ralph J. Galanti, Sr. Memorial Scholarship Award and the Grace M. Galanti Athletic Achievement Award, respectively, for their leadership and dedication to the athletic program. 

Kalczynski was a First Team All-American selection in goal for the Erie ice hockey team and Gray was a pivotal member of the Erie soccer, lacrosse and track and field teams.


For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.