BUFFALO — After being removed from its watchful perch for the first time since its installation in 1901, the iconic Ellicott Street eagle at ECC’s City Campus has been returned to its post.
Representatives of Erie Community College watched Picone Construction crew members reset the noted eagle—removed two months ago as part of the college’s ongoing $11 million restoration of City Campus’s 112-year-old downtown landmark building—on Monday morning over the school’s Ellicott Street campus entrance.
The massive preservation project, which began in the summer of 2011, has included replacement of the one-time Buffalo Post Office building’s roof; granite and mortar repair of the building’s towering exterior; replacement of the stone walls and cast iron porte cochere at the college’s Oak Street loading dock; restoration of fourth floor art glass; replacement of the entire building’s windows and window frames; and installation of four copper rooftop finials—which haven’t set atop the building since 1980.
The eagle was removed so crews could repair and reset the foundation of ECC’s Ellicott Street entryway, which will soon be open for the first time since work began on the section in early spring.
Since 1946, Erie Community College has met the needs of a diverse student body while contributing to the economic vitality of Western New York. As a member of the state’s SUNY system, the three-campus college provides flexible, affordable and accessible educational programs in an accommodating academic environment. Equipped with the knowledge of these programs, ECC’s faculty, staff and students strive to enrich their host communities through skill, service and partnership.