Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

ECC Women's 400 Free Relay Finishes 8th at NJCAAs

Saturday, March 05, 2011
BUFFALO, N.Y. – March 5 – Erie Community College’s 400 freestyle relay team of Caitlin Schwinge (Amherst, N.Y./Sweet Home), Rachelle Schmitt (Elma, N.Y./Iroquois), Raena Koeppel (Cheektowaga, N.Y.), and Julie Kaczmarek (Tonawanda, N.Y./Kenmore West) finished in eighth place at Saturday’s NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. The quartet posted a time of 4:06.38.
As a team, ECC finished 10th with 96 points.
Kaczmarek finished 13th in the 200 backstroke at 2:28.07 while Schwinge was 15th in the 1,650 freestyle at 20:43.75. Schmitt was 16th in the 200 breaststroke at 2:46.94.
After winning 14 events, Indian River State College won its 29th consecutive national title with 833 points.
On the men’s side, the 400 freestyle relay team of Ryan Tomporowski (West Seneca, N.Y./West Seneca East), Ryan Walter (Angola, N.Y./St. Francis), Mike Mazurkiewicz (Cheektowaga), and Brett Farrell (Angola, N.Y./Lake Shore) finished 11th at 3:32.87. The ECC men’s team finished 12 with 52 points.
ECC head coach Brad Boyle was the recipient of the Dr. Jack Cistriano Service Award.
By virtue of winning 14 of the 20 events, Indian River State College  successfully defended its men’s team title with 1,000. Indian River has won the team title every year since the 1975 NJCAA Championships.

For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.