Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

ECC’s Achiuwa Chosen Region III Player of the Year

Saturday, February 26, 2011
BUFFALO, N.Y. – Feb. 26 – Erie Community College sophomore forward God's Gift Achiuwa (Port Harcourt, River States, Nigeria/Sure Foundation) was named 2011 NJCAA Division II Region III Player of the Year Saturday. Achiuwa, who was also the 2010 Region III Player of the Year, averaged 23.7 points and 12 rebounds per game. He was named the Region II Player of the Week three times this season.
The Kats sophomore forward Tyshawn Edwards (Buffalo/Grover Cleveland) was named first-team All Region III after averaging 21 points and 7.4 rebounds per contest. Edwards also led the team with 51 steals and was second with 71 assists.
ECC freshman guard/forward Dequan Jones (Brooklyn/Pacific) was named to the region’s third team after averaging 10.1 points and 5.6 rebounds per game.
Joining Achiuwa and Edwards on the first team were: Dejuan McGuaghy, Mercyhurst North East; Deylon Bovell, Genesee Community College; and A.J. Roberts and Robby Seyler, Niagara County Community College.
Named second team all-region were: Greg Williams, Aaron Williams, and Andre Armstrong, Monroe Community College; Zieke Estime, Jamestown Community College; and Nate Williams, Jr., Mercyhurst North East.
In addition to Jones, chosen to the all-region third team were: Terrell Rankin and Dominique Aberdeen, Genesee CC; DeParis Banks of Jamestown CC-Cattaraugus County; and Geovonte Rose of Mercyhurst NE.
The Region III honorable mention selections were: Patrick Parker and Younatan Gobezai, Alfred State; Tyshawn Ferguson, Genesee CC; Jason Pitts, Mercyhurst NE, Charles Shellman, Niagara County CC; Ryan Carney, JCC-Cattaraugus County; Jacob Armstrong and Amare Anthony, Monroe CC; and Andrew Joseph and Markus Williams, Jamestown CC.
Mercyhurst NE’s David Gahan was named coach of the year after leading the Saints to an 18-8 record.

For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.