Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

ECC Finishes 7th in 200 Free Relay

Thursday, March 03, 2011

BUFFALO, N.Y. - March 3 - The Erie Community College team of Raena Koeppel (Cheektowaga), Rachelle Schmitt (Elma, N.Y./Iroquois), Caitlin Schwinge (Amherst/Sweet Home) and Julie Kaczmarek (Tonawanda/Kenmore West finished seventh with a time of 1:51.55 in the 200 freestyle relay Thursday at the NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships at ECC's Burt Flickinger Athletic Center.

As a team, ECC is in 11th with 38 points. Defending champion Indian River State College leads with 290 points.

On the men's side, ECC's team of Mike Mazurkiewicz (Cheektowaga), Ryan Walter (Angola/St. Francis), Ryan Tomporowski (West Seneca/West Seneca East) and Brett Farrell (Angola/Lake Shore) finished ninth in the 200 freestyle relay with a time of 1:38.39.

ECC is in 11th place with 32 points. Defending champion Indian River State College leads with 366 points.

Monroe Community College's Mallory Morrell set a meet record in the 50 freestyle with a time of 22.94 seconds in the finals. She broke her own record which she set at 22.97 seconds in the preliminary heats.

The NJCAA Championships continue tomorrow through Saturday.

Results can be obtained at: http://www.star-meets.org/results/NJCAA/2011/index.htm


For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.