Home  >  About ECC  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

Kats Win National Title

Sunday, July 24, 2011
Behind two goals and two assists from Nicholas Friol, the Erie Community College hockey team recorded its first NJCAA national title as the Kats downed Monroe Community College 4-2 Feb. 27 in the championship game in Rochester, N.Y.
Friol was named the tournament's most valuable player.
After Frank Briandi gave the Kats a 1-0 lead, Friol scored on a power play to give ECC a 2-0 with 2:28 remaining in the first period.
Monroe CC cut the Kats' lead to 2-1 with a goal in the third period's first 1:20 but Friol scored his second goal of the game at 6:03. Friol and Paul Brown then assisted on Todd Lyness' power-play goal at 9:26 to give the Kats a 4-1 lead.
Andrew Yelich made 31 saves.
Yelich joined Friol, Briandi and Zachary Williams on the all-tournament team.
ECC had finished as the NJCAA runners-up in 1982, 1987, 1994, 2009, and 2010, before claiming this year’s crown.
ECC head coach Gary Rost was named the NJCAA national coach of the year.

For emergency closings and announcements, call 716-851-1111. © 2010 Erie Community College. All rights reserved.