Board of Trustees

Mission And Vision

The following statements provided the roadmap and guidebook the organization uses to develop its strategic thinking. These statements indicate where the college is going and helps to prioritize SUNY Erie's strategy options. They also tell college officials what to bring along on the journey and provide benchmarks for determining progress.


SUNY Erie meets the needs of a diverse student body and contributes to regional economic vitality by providing high-quality, flexible, affordable and accessible educational programs committed to student success.


SUNY Erie will serve as an innovative learning resource by striving for universal access to lifelong learning, catalyzing economic and cultural development, and supporting a diverse and mobile student body.

SUNY Erie Excels

The College's Strategic Plan consists of five major pillars: Access, Completion, Engagement, Operations and Success. Each pillar consists of focus areas that contain goals and initiatives. Each initiative is part of a five-year timeline for the full implementation of Excels. Learn more about Excels.


Board Of Trustees

The 10-member Board of Trustees of SUNY Erie is comprised of four members appointed by the governor, five members appointed by the Erie County Executive and approved by the Erie County Legislature, and a voting student trustee elected by the student body of the three campuses. The board's responsibilities include approving the annual budget, setting policies and requirements, responding to community needs, approving personnel appointments, and guiding the college in setting and achieving its Mission and goals.

2022-23 Meeting Schedule

Board of Trustees Live Meeting

All meetings will be held at 9:00 a.m. unless otherwise noted.
View the Board of Trustees Meeting Documents.

September 29, 2022
October 27, 2022
November 17, 2022
December 15, 2022
January 26, 2023
February 16, 2023
March 30, 2023
April 27, 2023
Special Meeting: May 8th at 12:30 pm on North Campus
May 25, 2023
June 29, 2023
August 17, 2023

BOT Subcommittee Meeting Dates

Learn More here

Board Members

Jeffrey Stone, Vice Chairman
Jeffrey Stone, Board Chair
Appointed: 2019
Committee Membership: Budget, Audit, & Facilities; and Strategic Planning and Assessment
Melodie Baker
Melodie Baker, Vice Chair
Appointed: 2022
Committee Membership: Curriculum, Student Success, and Diversity; Policy and Governance; and Strategic Planning and Assessment 
Carrie Phillips
Carrie Phillips, Secretary
Appointed: 2019
Committee Membership: Strategic Planning and Assessment; and Technology
Kenneth Kruly
Kenneth Kruly
Appointed: 2023
Committee Membership: Budget, Audit and Facilities; Policy and Governance; and Talent, Diversity, Equity, and Belonging
Leonard Lenihan
Leonard Lenihan
Appointed: 2017
Committee Membership: Budget, Audit and Facilities; Marketing; and Talent, Diversity, Equity, and Belonging
Amanda Lowe
Amanda Lowe
Appointed: 2022
Committee Membership: Marketing; Talent, Diversity, Equity and Belonging; and Technology
Candace Morrison
Candace Morrison
Appointed: 2022
Committee Membership: Curriculum, Student Success, and Diversity; and Talent, Diversity, Equity and Belonging
Marcell Soares Pinheiro, Student Trustee
Marcell Soares Pinheiro, Student Trustee
Elected: 2022-23
Committee Membership: Curriculum, Student Success, and Diversity; and Marketing 

2023 Presidential Search

Committee Members

Name Title Organization
Jeff Stone, Co-Chair Chair SUNY Erie Board of Trustees
Melodie Baker, Co-Chair Vice Chair SUNY Erie Board of Trustees
The Hon. Carrie Phillips Secretary SUNY Erie Board of Trustees
Len Lenihan Past Chair SUNY Erie Board of Trustees
Marcell Soares Pinheiro Student Trustee SUNY Erie Board of Trustees

Tim Callan

Deputy Comptroller Erie County
Trina Burress President & CEO The United Way of Buffalo and Erie County

David O’Rourke, Ph.D.

District Superintendent & CEO Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES
Darren Brown-Hall, Ed.D. Superintendent of Schools

Williamsville Central School District

Benjamin Swanekamp

Chief of Staff

Erie County Executive’s Office

Mark Gaulin


President & CEO

Erie Community College Foundation Board of Trustees

Personal Computers, Inc. (PCI)

Casimiro Rodriguez Founder Hispanic Heritage Council of WNY
Theron Howard Vice President M & T Bank
TBA Representative West Herr Automotive
William Reuter Special Adviser, Former Interim President SUNY Erie Community College
Andy Sako FFECC (Faculty Union) President SUNY Erie Community College
Amy Yoder Dean of Students, Designee of AAECC (Administrators Staff Union) President  SUNY Erie Community College
Cyndi Dyll CSEA (Classified Staff Union) President SUNY Erie Community College
Colleen Quinn Chair SUNY Erie College Senate
April Baskin (or Designee) Majority Leader Erie County Legislature
Frank Todaro Designee of Minority Leader Mills Erie County Legislature


Search Firm

Fred Moore Senior Executive Search Consultant

AGB Search

Dr. Kim Bobby


AGB Search


SUNY Advisees

Johanna Duncan-Poitier Senior Vice Chancellor for Community Colleges SUNY

Jennifer Miller

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Community College Support, Executive Director

Zulaika Rodriguez Assistant Vice Chancellor for Presidential Recruitment, Evaluation, and Development SUNY


Support Staff

Kellie LaPiana

Assistant to the Board of Trustees SUNY Erie Community College

Bob Germony

Network Operator Specialist -ECC II SUNY Erie Community College
  The Office of Marketing & Communications SUNY Erie Community College