The curricula emphasizes personal accountability, awareness of laws and their impact
on the whole community, and are designed specifically for the needs and types of drivers
in the different programs.
View Our Course Catalog
UPDATE 5/2/2023: SUNY Erie is NOT offering a summer 2023 driver education program.
Please check back in the fall for program updates.
This defensive driving course is voluntary and is open to the public and local businesses. Benefits include a 10 percent reduction on liability and collision insurance and four points off the driving record.
Registration for the program should be received one week prior to the start date for the class. To receive credit for the class, you must be present for the entire class time. For closings due to weather or emergency, call 851-1111. Closings are also announced on the radio and television.
FEE: $44.00 FOR AUTOMOBILE CLUB OF AMERICA MEMBERS (AAA) AND $50.00 FOR NON-MEMBERS.
To receive a conditional license in New York State, following a conviction for DWI/DWAI, motorists must be registered with an Impaired Driver Program (IDP). This 16-hour program is only available through a referral from the New York State DMV or as a condition of discharge from a court. The Impaired Driver Program is part of New York's effort to reduce both the personal and property losses caused by drivers under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Registration is done in person at your local NYS Department of Motor Vehicles Office. You can register after a conviction in New York. Normally you would receive a letter within ten days of a conviction with specific information on registering. Contact the Erie County Auto Bureau at (716) 858-7450.
The cost of the program is $234 and you may pay by certified check, money order, or online. You can arrange a fee payment plan through SUNY Erie’s Main office. You do need to be paid in full by the start of the sixth class. SUNY Erie also offers the option to pay online with a credit card.
Classes are held evenings and Saturdays at Erie Community College South Campus, 4041 Southwestern Blvd, Orchard Park, NY 14127 and at Erie Community College, North Campus, 6205 Main Street (Main and Youngs Rd), Williamsville, NY 14221.
Students attend once a week for seven consecutive weeks, for a total of sixteen classroom hours. The first and second sessions are two hours. Sessions three through six are 2.5 hours. The last session is two hours in length. If you miss a class, you need to call the main office to arrange for a makeup class or to start a new set of classes.
Classes are taught by Erie Community College employed assistant part-time professors who are certified by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, NYS Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse, and the Prevention Research Institute. All instructors have advanced degrees and participate in yearly in-service training.
The Erie County Auto Bureau or New York State Department of Motor Vehicles determine when your license can be returned. Failing to finish all classes will result in a notice being sent to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles in Albany and within 2-4 weeks you will receive a revocation notice. You must turn in your license and the original revocation or suspension period will be reinstated.
A court may refer a motorist with a traffic ticket for speeding or other moving violation to this three-hour course. This course offers the benefit of a reduction of a moving violation to a non-moving violation. The course discusses defensive driving techniques, as well as updates class participants on New York State laws. Western New York courts use our driving school to help the traffic violator improve his/her attitude toward driving.