We would like to use cookies to store information on your computer, to improve our website. One of the cookies we use is essential for parts of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy notice. For privacy information for individuals within the European Union, see the SUNY GDPR privacy notice.
I accept cookies from this site.

News Stories

SUNY Erie’s annual scholarship luncheon highlights student success

Article by: Paula Sandy

BUFFALO—The SUNY Erie Community College Foundation hosted its annual scholarship luncheon on Friday, April 26, handing out more than $150,000 in scholarships to deserving students. This event recognizes the potential of current and future SUNY Erie students, while also celebrating the generosity of the scholarship donors.

SUNY Erie President Dr. Dan Hocoy offered the welcome address noting that scholarships provide often needed funding for students who might not otherwise have the resources to attend College. In acknowledging the donors, President Hocoy noted that “donors not only change the trajectory of the life of the scholarship recipient, but they also change the lives of the families of the students. The impact on our students and their families is monumental. And, for that life changing gift, we thank our donors.” 

The keynote address was presented by Gary Frost, who created the Donna Zielkiewicz Frost Memorial Scholarship in honor of his late wife. Frost noted that he and his wife desired to have an impact on the community, and he chose SUNY Erie because he was hopeful the scholarship would help a student fulfill their dreams.

One hundred fifty-seven scholarships were awarded. This year’s scholarship recipients are: Malik Abdulghani, Shanna Allen, Lisa Anderson, Rania Anderson, John Asibor, Jehan Attal, Shannon Bacon, Bryce Bailey, Sharon Baker, Alicia Barker-Smith, Lindsay Bauer, George Becraft, Phoebe Beiter, Erika Benham, Corey Beszczynski, Tayler Bolton, Deborah Borja, Samantha Bostic, Catherine Bullock, Yasmin Callaham, Amanda Carlacci, Shane Carter, Charlene Cintron, Lauren Clardy, Jacara Coates, Jillian Cole, James Courtney, Samuel Creighton, Trevor Cyman, Kimberly Davis, Shammara Davis, Dario Diaz Barragan, Lawrence Diebold, Daniel Dipizio, Jaclyn Doan, Jacob Dunn, Caleb Ebert, Angelina Fedorishina, Kimberly Forrest, Erica Freeman, Kirsten Furness, Mohammad Javid Ghanbarzadeh, Chelsa Godfrey, Shakilah Gordon, Cassandra Green, Ryan Greer, Nicholas Hall, Lindsey Hanes, Casey Hayes, Kanesha Hicks, Gabriel Higgins, Jenna Horwitz, Jonathan Hughes, Keith Hunt, Rachel Izzo, Maysa Jhumi, Yasmine Kaid, Jacob Kawecki, Hope Keagle, Wararat Khuansiri, Jon Klaybor, Benyapha Knorr, Christopher Koteras, Kelsey Kreppel, Felicia Lane, Raven Lazi, Megan Lichtenthal, Barry Lillis, Jasmaine Mack, Afshan Malik, Maria Manning, Nicole Martin, Equasia McBroom, Holly McMahan, Alyssa Meeker, Anthony Mele, Athena Mohamed, Fardowsa Mohamud, Latoyia Moton, Ericc Mott, Jessica Nagle, Linda Nowak, Kelly O’Connell, Justice Olivo, Nicholas Osika, Ahmad Rashid, Kelly Reeves, Kandy Roberson, Tara Reimers, David Rodriguez, Joseph Russo, Rocco Salamone, Ryan Scheuer, Aidan Scherer, Tianna Scott, Mohammad Sharieff, Sarah Sheff, Wendy Streebel, Jennifer Szmania, Jacklyn Szymoniak, Nathan Tilkins, David Trendall, Monasharah Uddin, Krutika Vaghashiya, Chelsea Van Every, Denise Venezia, Mary Vogel, Steven Williams, Ava Wilson, Pardis Yahyazadeh, and Alyssa Zappia. 

The event was held at the SUNY Erie North Campus with lunch prepared and served by Culinary Arts faculty and students, led by Chef Instructor Mark Wright.

Need Help?

Marketing and Communications

City Campus
Room 116
121 Ellicott Street
Buffalo, NY 14203
P: (716) 851-1866